News

Tractor driving

As I sat on the tractor bumping over the furrows created by it’s larger cousin on last years plough, I thought back to that moment in Time in our Life project, when I declared my desire to marry a farmer, and realised that while this would never be fulfilled, I AM a farmer. Is the land too wet? What’s the weather in the next few days, will we get the land harrowed in time to seed? All these variables suddenly in the forefront of consciousness.

I couldn’t have done it without the help and confidence of MJ, who did the lions share of work.
First we flayed, in perfect weather conditions. Rain all that night, but the harrow seemed to work until MJ got stuck in an unexpected rut. David King came out on his Gaiter to the rescue. Rain abated, and MJ, gaining in confidence all the time, got all the rides as well as the agro forestry area harrowed. ‘It looks as good if not better than the neighbour field’, declared MJ. We kept an area of phycellia just flayed and an area unflayed. Our experiment areas. As MJ harrowed, I collected diesel, and reinstated fallen or unprotected hedge plants.

The community garden and forest garden, are ready to plant.

Leave a comment